New Picture Books

 

Here’s a few picture books that you’ll be seeing on the NEW shelf!

Little Red Riding Sheep by Linda Ravin Lodding

Arnold, a sheep, (a Heidschnucke sheep, to be exact!), keeps inserting himself into this re-telling of the timeless fairy tale, Little Red Riding Hood.  There’s a few problems, however; he’s a bit too big and fluffy to be playing the part of Little Red, he’s afraid of the woods, and well, he’s not afraid to talk back.

The Mermaid by Jan Brett

Kiniro is a young mermaid that comes upon a house made of coral and seashells, and makes herself at home by eating a just-right breakfast, sitting in a pretty chair, and resting on a comfy bed.  When the octopus family returns home to find her asleep, she quickly leaves, but not without leaving a special gift for baby octopus!

Say Zoopby Herve Tullet

If you had fun with the author’s other books such as “Press Here”, “Mix It Up” or “Let’s Play” – you’re sure to love his newest creation.  Starting with saying out loud a simple “AH!” and “OH!”,  keep turning  the pages to take an incredible trip of sound, motion and imagination, culminating in the word “ZOOP!”  Sure to have you laughing out loud, and perhaps a bit breathless, by the end.

World Pizza by Cece Meng

When Mama searches the sky for a wishing star and sneezes while making her wish, her wish for world peace becomes world “pizza”.  When pizzas start dropping from the sky all over the world, love and kindness fill everyone’s hearts.

Grandma’s Tiny House by JaNay Brown-Wood

Counting from 1 (Grandma)  to 15 (hungry grandkids) this sweet rhyming story celebrates families, food, and fun.  Will everyone fit in Grandma’s tiny house! Count your way through to the end to find out.

 

Miss Teresa

Advertisements

New Chapter Books

I love walking into our office to find a cart of bright and shiny new books to look through! What I love even more is sharing our new books with you!  Here is a quick preview of some of the exciting new chapter books that have arrived at MPL in the past couple of weeks (or will be very soon). If there isn’t a link to the catalog on the title you are interested in yet, have no fear… that book will soon be here!  What new books are YOU reading?  We love suggestions!

 

The Adventures of Henry Whiskers by Gigi Priebe 

Henry Whiskers must face his fears and rescue his little sister from the scary Rat Alley in this fun, fast-paced debut chapter book set in Queen Mary’s historical dollhouse at Windsor Castle.

 

Joplin, Wishing by Diane Stanley

A heartfelt and magical middle grade novel in the tradition of Tuck Everlasting and Bridge to Terabithia, about family, wishes, and the power of true friends to work magic.

 

Felix Yz by Lisa Bunker

When Felix Yz was three years old, a hyperintelligent fourth-dimensional being became fused inside him after one of his father’s science experiments went terribly wrong. The creature is friendly, but Felix—now thirteen—won’t be able to grow to adulthood while they’re still melded together. So a risky Procedure is planned to separate them . . . but it may end up killing them both instead.

This book is Felix’s secret blog, a chronicle of the days leading up to the Procedure. Some days it’s business as usual—time with his close-knit family, run-ins with a bully at school, anxiety about his crush. But life becomes more out of the ordinary with the arrival of an Estonian chess Grandmaster, the revelation of family secrets, and a train-hopping journey. When it all might be over in a few days, what matters most?

 

The Castle in the Mist by Amy Ephron

Sent for the summer to their aunt’s sleepy village in the English countryside,Tess and Max find the key to a castlehidden from time and learn that wishes can come true, if they wish carefully. Perfect for fans of Half Magic and The Secret Garden—and for anyone who’s ever wondered if magic is real.

 

The Uncommoners: The Crooked Sixpence by Jennifer Bell

Ivy Sparrow and her big brother Seb discover a city beneath London where ordinary objects have magical powers.

 

The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart by Stephanie Burgis

Aventurine is the fiercest, bravest kind of dragon, and she’s ready to prove it to her family by leaving the safety of their mountain cave and capturing the most dangerous prey of all: a human.

But when the human she captures tricks her into drinking enchanted hot chocolate, she finds herself transformed into a puny human girl with tiny blunt teeth, no fire, and not one single claw. She’s still the fiercest creature in these mountains though – and now she’s found her true passion: chocolate! All she has to do is walk on two feet to the human city, find herself an apprenticeship (whatever that is) in a chocolate house (which sounds delicious), and she’ll be conquering new territory in no time … won’t she?

Middle School: Escape to Australia by James Patterson

The trip to Australia Rafe has won starts badly, but after connecting with a group of misfits he finds a way to do what he does best–create mayhem.

 

Short by Holly Goldberg Sloan

Very short for her age, Julia grows into her sense of self while playing a munchkin in a summer regional theater production of The Wizard of Oz.

 

Nnewts: Battle for Amphibopolis by Doug TenNapel

In the final, epic installment of the Nnewts trilogy, the fate of all Nnewts hangs in the balance! Herk, falling under the influence of Blakk Mudd, is slowly turning into a Lizzark and abandoning his Nnewt friends. Herk’s siblings, Sissy and Zerk, have been corrupted by evil and the Lizzark army is still threatening Amphibopolis with total destruction. Now the Nnewts need a true hero to step up and save the day before it’s too late!