Special Visitors at the library!

The last few weeks we have been lucky to have special class visits from a local preschool. We LOVE these visits! Schools and daycares (even in home day cares) contact us and we create a free story time with crafts and activities just for their group.  It is great because it really allows us to adapt a program to fit their specific needs and age ranges.

We tell stories, act out action plays, shake shaky eggs to music and use the felt board. These activities last for about 20 minutes. Then the craziness begins. We have the teachers divide their students into groups and the kids are able to visit several stations that we set up.

On this particular visit, our sensory table was filled with a great recipe for Play Snow that we found over at Huckleberry Love. The kids had a great time filling containers and making forts, snow figures and squishing the “snow” between their fingers.  This is by far our favorite recipe and parents and teachers alike love it!

We set up a Veterinary station at one table. Each chair had a lab coat and a small stuffed cat or dog. The table was filled with various toy medical instruments.

One table had a small dog cutout which matched the dog from the story Dog’s Colorful Day. The children colored their dog from their memory of the story. A popsicle stick was taped to the back and they had a puppet.

There was a table with Magnatiles that the kids build alone or with a friend. The crashing as towers fell was as much fun as the building.

Another table had play dough (we make our own) with rolling pins of various sizes and designs, lots of plastic cutting tools and plastic cookie cutters. It is always a favorite table.

An unusual station for us was the Yeti. He is a 7 foot tall drawing that Miss Marta drew for our Choose Your Own Adventure program, but he was such a hit we kept him up. The kids were able to show off their throwing arms as they threw cloth snowballs at the Yeti. We did have to keep a bit of an eye on the kids with this one, but it was worth it.

Some of the groups were rather large so we also added a transportation rug and vehicles for the kids to play with.

For a surprise, we sent home a ball of our Color Surprise Playdough for each child. The surprise is that each ball has gel food coloring inside the ball so they had no idea which color they would receive.

Miss Sarah


This Week in the Children’s Department February 12th to 17th

Monday Feb. 12  – Storytime for Littles – 9:30 or 10:45

Tuesday, Feb. 13 – Lunar New Year Celebration – 6:30pm

Wednesday, Feb. 14 – Last day to collect your Winter Reading Program prize!

Wednesday, Feb. 14 – Exploratorium – 2-3:30pm – Maker Lab


Miss Teresa

Winter Reading Program

Just a quick reminder:

If you’ve been participating in our “Choose Your Own Winter Reading Adventure”, you must finish your reading by February 10, 2018.  Return your completed adventure log to the children’s desk by February 14 to claim your book prize!

Thanks to Meemic Insurance for sponsoring this year’s Winter Reading Program!

Miss Teresa

New Blue Blocks in Children’s

We have new blocks from Imagination Playground for your children to explore in the Children’s Department. These soft block are just the right size for young children to build their dreams. And they are quiet. Which is nice in a library setting.

The blue blocks encourage children to work together, use their creativity and imagination, develop fine and gross motor skills that help with literacy skills, and give them an opportunity for learning building concepts—all while having fun.

These blocks were made possible by a generous grant given to us by the Moline Kiwanis Club.

Miss Sarah