New Chapter Books

I love walking into our office to find a cart of bright and shiny new books to look through! What I love even more is sharing our new books with you!  Here is a quick preview of some of the exciting new chapter books that have arrived at MPL in the past couple of weeks (or will be very soon). If there isn’t a link to the catalog on the title you are interested in yet, have no fear… that book will soon be here!  What new books are YOU reading?  We love suggestions!

 

The Adventures of Henry Whiskers by Gigi Priebe 

Henry Whiskers must face his fears and rescue his little sister from the scary Rat Alley in this fun, fast-paced debut chapter book set in Queen Mary’s historical dollhouse at Windsor Castle.

 

Joplin, Wishing by Diane Stanley

A heartfelt and magical middle grade novel in the tradition of Tuck Everlasting and Bridge to Terabithia, about family, wishes, and the power of true friends to work magic.

 

Felix Yz by Lisa Bunker

When Felix Yz was three years old, a hyperintelligent fourth-dimensional being became fused inside him after one of his father’s science experiments went terribly wrong. The creature is friendly, but Felix—now thirteen—won’t be able to grow to adulthood while they’re still melded together. So a risky Procedure is planned to separate them . . . but it may end up killing them both instead.

This book is Felix’s secret blog, a chronicle of the days leading up to the Procedure. Some days it’s business as usual—time with his close-knit family, run-ins with a bully at school, anxiety about his crush. But life becomes more out of the ordinary with the arrival of an Estonian chess Grandmaster, the revelation of family secrets, and a train-hopping journey. When it all might be over in a few days, what matters most?

 

The Castle in the Mist by Amy Ephron

Sent for the summer to their aunt’s sleepy village in the English countryside,Tess and Max find the key to a castlehidden from time and learn that wishes can come true, if they wish carefully. Perfect for fans of Half Magic and The Secret Garden—and for anyone who’s ever wondered if magic is real.

 

The Uncommoners: The Crooked Sixpence by Jennifer Bell

Ivy Sparrow and her big brother Seb discover a city beneath London where ordinary objects have magical powers.

 

The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart by Stephanie Burgis

Aventurine is the fiercest, bravest kind of dragon, and she’s ready to prove it to her family by leaving the safety of their mountain cave and capturing the most dangerous prey of all: a human.

But when the human she captures tricks her into drinking enchanted hot chocolate, she finds herself transformed into a puny human girl with tiny blunt teeth, no fire, and not one single claw. She’s still the fiercest creature in these mountains though – and now she’s found her true passion: chocolate! All she has to do is walk on two feet to the human city, find herself an apprenticeship (whatever that is) in a chocolate house (which sounds delicious), and she’ll be conquering new territory in no time … won’t she?

Middle School: Escape to Australia by James Patterson

The trip to Australia Rafe has won starts badly, but after connecting with a group of misfits he finds a way to do what he does best–create mayhem.

 

Short by Holly Goldberg Sloan

Very short for her age, Julia grows into her sense of self while playing a munchkin in a summer regional theater production of The Wizard of Oz.

 

Nnewts: Battle for Amphibopolis by Doug TenNapel

In the final, epic installment of the Nnewts trilogy, the fate of all Nnewts hangs in the balance! Herk, falling under the influence of Blakk Mudd, is slowly turning into a Lizzark and abandoning his Nnewt friends. Herk’s siblings, Sissy and Zerk, have been corrupted by evil and the Lizzark army is still threatening Amphibopolis with total destruction. Now the Nnewts need a true hero to step up and save the day before it’s too late!

Best of 2016 #2

We are almost to our top books of the year, but first… which ones made runner up? #2 slot here we come! To see more of the books we loved in 2016, click here!

Sarah

The Thank You Book by Mo Willems

Gerald and Piggie’s final book is filled with gratitude for everyone, but will someone be left out of the thank-o-rama?

Marta

Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier

Adjusting to a new town is hard enough for Cat.  Not only is she trying to make new friends, figuring out how to get along with her neighbor, and creating a social life for herself without her little sister butting in, but she also is going to have to figure out how to live in a town filled with ghosts! The relationship between the sisters in this book is so realistic and the art, as always, is amazing!

Teresa

The Airport Book by Lisa Brown

As a family takes to the friendly skies, no one know what happened to Monkey except the little girl who packed him (with his tail hanging out of the suitcase)!  Follow along in this Knuffle Bunny-esque narrative to see if Monkey is reunited with his girl.  More than just an introduction to the airport, the story is a look at the wide world itself.

Janna

Meltdown! by Jill Murphy

Parents everywhere can relate to this tale of the evolution of a child’s world-class tantrum.  The illustration style is a bit old-school, but the interactions of Mom and daughter are spot-on, and my daughter clearly identified with the tantrum-ing Roxy.

Best of 2016 #3

Down to our final 3!  This year has been full of amazing books, so we are down to the ones we absolutely LOVED.  If you missed yesterday’s #4 post, click here.

Sarah

Good Night, Baddies by Deborah Underwood

An unusual look at fairytale baddies as they get ready for bed.

Marta 

Home At Last by Vera B. Williams and Chris Raschka

This story represents an end and beginning.  This story was written as Vera B. Williams was succumbing to cancer and Raschka worked closely with her to help bring her final vision into the world when she was too ill to go on and after she passed.  Knowing this background made the story that much more powerful, and it was already powerful on its own. Through beautiful illustrations and warm text, we follow the story of Lester, a lucky little boy who has been adopted by Daddy Rich and Daddy Albert.  Though Lester’s new life is a very good life, he just can’t manage to stay in his own bed.  Even his daddies are having trouble and no one is getting sleep!  What will help Lester adjust to his new life and his new bed?

Teresa

Old Dog Baby Baby by Julie Fogliano

“old dog lazy lazy/ lying on the kitchen floor/here comes baby baby/crawling through the kitchen door…” With charming watercolor illustrations by Chris Raschka, author Fogliano spins a lovely tale of a faithful dog and its family, told in verse.

Janna

Little Night Cat by Sonja Danowski

The images and old-world style of this book were what first caught my eye, but as I read the story, I fell in  love with it too.  Having just adopted a cat ourselves, this tale really resonated with my little family, and my children loved the sweet pictures of Tony and his kitten Valentine.

Best of 2016 #7

Welcome to the first full weekend of 2017!  With the January winds still whipping, it is the perfect time to delve into what is in store for you at the #7 spot on our Best of 2016 lists.  Wondering what titles you have missed?  Find out here.

 

Sarah

Wolf Camp by Andrea Zuill

Homer the dog gets to live the life of a wolf for a week.

Marta

Peep and Egg: I’m Not Hatching by Laura Gehl

Peep is so excited for Egg to hatch!  Sadly, Egg isn’t so sure hatching is a good idea.  The light humor in this book shines in an excellent tale of what happens when you stop worrying about what could go wrong and start looking forward to things that could go right.

Teresa

Not As We Know It by Tom Avery

Eleven year old twins Jamie and Ned have always done everything together, but Ned is sick with Cystic Fibrosis, and may one day leave his brother behind.   When they find a sea creature washed up on the beach, they name him Leonard and take him home.  But why is Leonard here? A beautiful, haunting story about the bonds between brothers with a touch of magical realism, grief, and ultimately, hope.

Janna

Heroes for My Son and Heroes for My Daughter by Brad Meltzer

As an ardent lover of biographies, I was thrilled to find these collections to pass on to my kids.  Short and sweet, these books poignantly show the impact even one small life can have.

 

Best of 2016 #8

Sharing our #8 spot picks today and there are some really exciting selections on this list!  We love variety around here!  If you missed our #9 picks, check them out here!  Now on with the show…

 

Sarah

What Do You Do With A Problem? by Kobi Yamada

A child learns that problems are not as bad if you face them.

Marta

This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

This YA read was definitely a stand out for me.  I love books that are told from varying perspectives and this story is told through the voices of different students during a school shooting.  The topic is intense as is, but then as you discover each character, what brought them to where they are and how they are all intertwined in an explosive moment, you end up completely emotionally-invested in the story and characters.  This story is one you can’t walk away from.

Teresa

Booked by Kwame Alexander

In this follow-up to the Newbery winning novel, The Crossover, 12 year old Nick learns about the power of words as he simultaneously struggles with problems at home, dealing with a bully and trying to impress the girl of his dreams.  This novel-told-in-verse by poet Alexander captured me – maybe because it features a librarian named “The Mac” who gives Nick inspiring books to read!

Janna

Rad Women Worldwide by Kate Schatz

Thoroughly inspiring, this amazing book chronicles the lives and impact of women around the world from artists to political activists.  It also features a further reading list in the back featuring women from every country on the globe.

Best of 2016 #9

If you missed our faves in the #10 spot yesterday, check them out here!  In the mean time, on to…

Sarah

My Friend Maggie by Hannah E. Harrison

A story of true friendship and an understanding soul.

Marta

Quit Calling Me Monster by Jory Johns

Monster is very offended when people keep calling him… a monster!  He doesn’t want to fit the stereotype… or does he?  This book and the illustrations make for a hilarious read-aloud with preK on up.

Teresa

Pug Meets Pig by Sue Lowell Gallion

Will Pug and Pig ever learn to get along?  This darling story celebrates embracing change, being kind to others and finding friendship in unlikely places.

Janna

Hey, That’s MY Monster by Amanda Noll

A silly read-aloud tale of finding the perfect bedtime monster for you!  Parents and kids will both get a kick out of this one and laugh along with Ethan and Emma (and their monsters)!

MPL Closing