Best of 2016 #5

We made it halfway down our countdown!  One thing I am loving about the #5 spot on our list is that whether it is due to exceptionally talented illustrators or amazing photographers, these books are all a visual feast.  For more great reads, check out the first half of our list starting with yesterdays #6 spot here.

Sarah

I Will Not Eat You by Adam Lehrhaupt

Dragon ignores the creatures visiting the outside of his cave, until one day…

Marta

Whatever Happened to My Sister by Simona Ciraolo

I’m not usually one for touching stories, but this one got me right in the heart.  Maybe it is reflecting a season of life that I’m watching my own kiddos go through, but the illustrations and text just brought to the surface a lot of emotion and tenderness.  Told from the perspective of a younger sister with an older sister hitting that teen/tween phase, she wonders what has happened to her fun-loving older sister.  Her sister has been replaced with a mysterious, standoffish person she no longer feels that she knows.  The illustrations beautifully illustrate the older sister going from child to teen and the before/after as the younger sister sees it.  To me, the beautiful part is at the end where the big sister puts aside her young adult pride and actually gives her younger sister some of the time and attention she has been missing.  Beautifully done.

Teresa

I Hear a Pickle by Rachel Isadora

A charming first introduction to a child’s five senses and how they experience the world.

Janna

The Travel Book by Lonely Planet

One of the most beautiful coffee table books I’ve seen, this amazing travelogue caught my eye and I sat down and immediately read it cover to cover.  Featuring every country on the globe, this book really captures the spirit of a place and it’s unique beauty.

Leave a Reply

