Reading by the Genre

reading-by-the-genre-3

A most commonly asked question here in the library is recommendations on horror books. It has been a genre that continues to grow more and more each year it seems. Whether it’s because of the shock factor or the suspense they carry-it’s a genre worth noting! A horror kids book that I really enjoy myself is Coraline. I remember really wanting to read this book shortly after seeing the movie, and I legitimately thought it was very spooky. What this book does rather well is that it does not give off the vibe of being scary at all. It isn’t until halfway through the book it begins to transcend into the horror genre. Not to mention, this was the book that made me an absolute fan of the author, Neil Gaiman.

Typically, horror goes hand and hand with this other equally popular genre-mystery! These two genres are basically like peanut butter and jelly, or should I say, Sherlock Holmes and his esteem sidekick, Dr. Watson. This was an especially interesting genre to me since I typically, but Lois Lowry does it again with another novel that I love: The Willoughbys. With its quirky characters and compelling story line, this book was a quick read. I adored every single moment of it.

I have compiled a list that is half horror and half mystery, to create one ultimate suspense lover’s recommendation list. These are all fantastic titles that I’ve either read, heard others enjoy, or that I have stumbled across recently.

Which one of these books would you read to shock yourself?

The Name of This Book is Secret by Pseudonymous Bosch

The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trent Lee Stewart

The Willoughbys by Lois Lowry

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

The London Eye Mystery by Siobhan Dowd

The Thief Lord by Cornelia Flunke

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Dangerous Girls by R.L. Stine

The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier

Scary Stories Series by Alvin Schwartz

The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

