When you grow up… (Sarah)

“What do you want to be when you grow up?”  Inspired by this blog post, I asked the children’s department staff how they would have answered that question as a kid and why. Sarah wraps up our series saying…

 

When I was a few days younger than I am now, I wanted to be a wife and mom. I saw my future self living in a small yellow house with my husband and three kids. Our family would include a minimum of two cats and a dog, and there might be a gold fish or guppies. On the side yard there would be bicycles resting from a long ride.

Our yard would be a double lot like I had growing up and there would be room for two gardens one for flowers and the other vegetables and lots of room for the kids to play. There would be bird houses and feeders in the trees with a bird bath surrounded by flowers. A tire swing would hang from one of the sturdy trees in the back yard.

The inside of our home would have lots of windows so the sun could shine in. Pretty curtains and drapes, made by me, would outline the windows. Cut flowers from my garden placed in a special vase would sit on the wooden kitchen table. Pies would cool on the kitchen window sill.

The kitchen would flow into the family room where there would be comfy furniture for my family to lounge and be together.

It was a beautiful dream.  For some great reads on families and houses that are homes, check out these great picture books!

One Family by George Shannon

Our Tree Named Steve by Alan Zweibel

Dozens of Cousins by Shutta Crum

Blackout by John Rocco

All the World by Liz Garton Scanlon

Yes, Let’s by Galen Goodwin Longstreth

 

Sarah

Sarah

Leave a Reply

