When You Grow Up… (Christina)

“What do you want to be when you grow up?”  Inspired by this blog post, I asked the children’s department staff how they would have answered that question as a kid and why. Christina is up next…

 

I wanted to be many different things when I grew up. One year it was a teacher, a couple of months it was a nurse. There was a time I wanted to be a writer followed by an even longer time an artist. There were stints of wanting to raise Beagles, being a Gemologist or being a Chef, but by the time I reached High School the thought of being a Librarian appealed to me since I was there all the time. That was until I was an exchange student in Belgium. Then I set my heart on a career in travel and speaking foreign languages. Although I have had all these wonderful different interests, everything has led me back to the library. Where else can you constantly explore new worlds, learn new things, discover new projects! What’s more, those interests in my past help me in my work today with programs, reference questions and communicating with the public. The library is the best place to be – I hope you come visit me here soon!

Here are some great books that could have inspired any of my dreams growing up!

Mrs. Roopy is Loopy by Dan Gutman

Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

The Donut Chef by Bob Staake

MVP: *The Magellan Voyage Project by Douglas Evans

Shakespeare’s Secret by Elise Broach

Isabella: Girl on the Go by Jennifer Fosberry

 

Chistina

Chistina

Leave a Reply

