When you grow up… (Teresa)

“What do you want to be when you grow up?”  Inspired by this blog post, I asked the children’s department staff how they would have answered that question as a kid and why. Up first is Teresa…

When I was a kid I thought I’d grow up to be a teacher or a nurse; typical “girl” career choices! It’s funny I never considered being a librarian when I was little, because all I really ever wanted to do was read!

After being a candy striper in high school, I took the nursing profession off my list.   I did ultimately become a preschool teacher before working in libraries, so I feel I merged my childhood career dream with my favorite hobby.  I just wish I had more time to read!

Here are a few book titles about teachers and librarians!

The Library by Sarah Stewart
Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein
Teacher! Sharing, Helping, Caring by Patricia Hubbell
Olivia and the Best Teacher Ever by Ilanit Oliver
Book! Book! Book! by Deborah Bruss
Amelia Bedelia Bookworm by Herman Parish

Leave a Reply

