Reading slump

READING

I’m in a reading slump.  This always happens after I finish a book (or books) that I really love.  It just feels like nothing is as good as the last book I read.  I just finished Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and El Deafo by Cece Bell.  Nothing I pick up appeals to me in the same way as those two (very different) books.  I have a growing stack of books waiting to be read, and I’m barely slogging through.  So how do I get out of a slump?

Sometimes I read more of the same.  After I read all three of The Hunger Games books in a weekend a few years back, I just kept reading young adult dystopian science fiction.  I read Divergent by Veronica Roth, Enclave by Ann Aguirre, Little Brother by Cory Doctorow (my personal favorite), Unwind by Neal Shusterman, Birthmarked by Caragh M. O’Brien, and Matched by Ally Condie.  Other than Little Brother, none were quite as engaging, but it kept me reading.  After I finished Matched, I knew that I had enough of the genre for a while, and I was able to move on to something else.

Other times I take a break.  Sometimes this means that I quit reading for a bit and wait until a book I’m really interested in comes my way.  In other instances, it means that I allow myself to read something slowly, instead of forcing myself to get through a novel.  I’m currently reading John Corey Whaley’s  Noggin, which was recently added to the National Book Award finalist long list.  It is funny and sweet, but it is taking me much longer to get through it than it normally would.  And I’ve learned to let myself think that is okay.

Here are other people’s helpful suggestions for getting through your reading slump:

Lauren Reads YA: How to Get Out of a Reading Slump

Scholastic: Turn a Reading Slump into a Reading Surge

Goodreads: Reading Slumps!

How do you deal with your own reading slumps?

2 thoughts on “Reading slump

  1. I don’t think I really have reading SLUMP-slumps, but if I happen to be feeling slumpish after a book, I watch a film. I love both literary and visual storytelling, so reading a book often puts me in the mood to watch a film, and watching a film often puts me in the mood to read a book.

Leave a Reply

