I read it when I was a kid…

When trying to encourage others to read, it isn’t uncommon to suggest books or series that we read and enjoyed ourselves.  I love to suggest my favorite graphic novel series, Zita the Space Girl by Ben Hatke to almost anyone I speak with, but I also tend to recommend some of my favorites from childhood — The Giver by Lois Lowry, A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle, or Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White.  Considered classics, all of these books have found homes on most public library shelves and probably won’t be leaving anytime soon.  But there are some books that are less of classics that I still loved none-the-less, and considering the surge in requests for these books, I’m guessing I’m not alone.  These books have found their way out of the library over the years, but we’ve had to re-add them to our collection to keep up with demand!  Most recently, we’ve had a notable influx of requests for The Baby-Sitter’s Club Series by Ann M. Martin.

kristy's great ideaThe Baby-Sitter’s Club  is a series of 131 books that spawned 3 spin-off series, a TV show, a movie, and a recent reboot as a graphic novels.  The first book (Kristy’s Great Idea) was published in 1986, and these became extremely popular books with a generation of (mostly) girls who wanted to start their own baby-sitting clubs and build strong bonds with like-minded girls.  Although the books went out of print in 2009, some of the books were re-released starting in 2010.  We have been getting A LOT of requests for this series, especially from kids finding their parent’s copies in basements and attics.  So, keep your eye out.  You might see some new copies cropping up on our shelves soon!  And until then, I recommend the fantastic graphic novel versions, illustrated and adapted by Smile author, Raina Telgemeier.

 

Other books that were popular 20 years ago that we frequently get requests for:

 

One thought on “I read it when I was a kid…

Leave a Reply

